come wandering with me...

Tuesday, 8 February 2011

My current saviours...

So January is over.. (thank the lordy, January does depress me SO much!) but it's still quite chilly and vair windy down here in the south-west. Icy wind = nasty cracked and dry lips..not goode. Soooo... I have two products here that never fail to deliver much needed moisture and that barrier between my rather feeble body and the harsh environment. 


Firstly we have Elizabeth Arden's Eight hour skin protectant.. not to be confused with the eight hour cream. I love this stuff.. seriously. It is a bit pricey BUT i did find it in my local TJHughes for about £8 or so, so Hurrah!..sorry i can't remember the exact price! I know that some people may not be as thrilled because it does have a very distinct scent. It's a kind of medicated scent...but not in a scary doctor's anesthetic way...but i love it! I think the scent is kinda soothing. Plus, the tube is massive and a little goes a long way... so i know this will last me forever. Not only that... but this little guy is definitely a multi-tasker! Its great on dry skin anywhere...and i mean anywhere! I love to massage a little amount into my cuticles every night and voila...no more manky, peeling, sore fingers!

Next up,  we have a Korres lip butter... this one in guava. I know that there are quite a few other flavours.. which I'd love to try after I'm finished with this pot, but I am honestly loving the guava one... it smells incredible. Really smooth, moisturising, creamy and long lasting. I know it looks kinda white and scary but it goes on more sheer don't worry! It does however mute out my lips ever so slightly...but I like that, because i have pretty pigmented lips...so it does make them look kinda nudey  :)

Anyway..i hope this was an interesting read! I do also love Carmex...and i know so does just about everyone else...but the reason why i don't love it quite as much...is because it stings. Not just stings...but it hurts! None of that business with these two products though...so I'm afraid my faithful cherry carmex has been replaced!

x


Tuesday, 4 January 2011

Champagne Champagne Champagne...


Sporting Models Own 'Champagne'. I'm a big fan of Models Own nail polishes.
Great quality and pretty fast drying in my opinion. I know it's available in Superdrug here in the UK and it would cost you £5, but I picked mine up on Asos in their sale and got it -plus a free nail buffer- for £3.50... steal! I checked and they still have it so I've put a link in for you here :) 
Definitely check it out! It's exactly what it says on the tin, a beautiful champagne colour,
with in my opinion a sliiiiight rose gold tinge...

Models Own 'Champagne'
I wore this on saturday, and at the MAC store the s.a. and I were commenting on how similar it was to the nail lacquer called 'soiree' from the Champale collection... canny hey? ;)
It is very similar, but 'soiree' is more obviously rose gold than champagne... however, they are equally as stunning... 

x

Monday, 3 January 2011

MAC Champale collection haul and review

,
left: Dangerous cuvee paint pot, middle: I get no kick eye kohl, right:vintage selection paint pot
Happy 2011 everyone! What better way to start off the New Year like a small haul :D When I first heard about MACs Champale selection, I'm going to be honest, I wasn't exactly excited... but that was before I checked out the preview and swatches on Temptalia. As soon as I saw the photos for the collection I knew I had to make my way down to my nearest Mac counter store!! Not only are the promotion photos beautiful, the products, in my opinion are :) I really wanted everything! But unfortunately my bank balance would not agree with that... I in particular loved the look of the paint pots and lip gelees... but, I already had the 'resort life' lip gelee from the MAC Venomous Villains collections, which apparently is almost identical to 'Bubblelounge' lip gelee from this collection, so with a lot of self-will I decided to pass on them. I ended getting two of the four available paint pots and an eye kohl.


vintage selection paint pot (photo with flash)
 In pictures it looked beautiful, in the store it looked beautiful... i had to have it.. simples. In my opinion it is a shimmery brown, rose gold, and unlike anything in my collection. I know many people have criticised the paint pots in this collection, being too shimmery and not enough colour pay-off, but I have to disagree. Yes, they aren't the most pigmented paint pots ever released, and yes, they are shimmery... but that is the desired effect of the collection in my opinion. I love the not so 'in ya face' pigmentation, as it's subtle, and you can build upon the paint pot with more eyeshadow etc. So I can't express enough love for this, it's so much prettier in real life too, and it really compliments and works with my skin tone and shade (warm, golden undertones, about an nc20-ish.. sorry about not being precise!)



Dangerous Cuvee (photo with flash)

I originally wasn't drawn to dangerous cuvee, but in the store it was just beautiful... i couldn't resist! Then I realised how unique a product it is, because correct me if I'm wrong, but Mac just doesn't do grey paint pots. In the photo with flash, it looks a bit lighter and also cooler, yet in real life even though it has silver shimmer in it, it doesn't come across as cool. It's a beautiful grey, but it's not just grey, it's a beautiful taupey type shade... and I'm so glad i picked it up.
There was two other paint pots, I liked the look of the champagne coloured one... I think it's called 'Chilled on ice'.. however, the other paint pot, seeing it in real life, I wasn't drawn to it... it's a more warm coppery colour called 'Let me pop'.

My last purchase was after much umming and aahing...


I get no kick eye kohl pencil
After watching fleur de force and missglamorazzi and their joint video on their Mac haul, they described it as 'bare study paint pot but in pencil form'. Now, i thought hmm that's interesting, but I guess I could always use a champagney coloured eyeshadow on my waterline to create the same effect... so that was that. However, in the store i swatched it.... then swatched it again... and stared at it some more, and I just loved how it caught the light... I mentioned my surprise that it wasn't sold out to the s.a. ... only for her to tell me how there were only two left. Soooo i thought aah what the heck I'll get it... and I'm so so so glad I did! When I applied it to my waterline it seemed really subtle... and i couldn't help being a bit underwhelmed... but as soon as you step out into daylight (or perhaps just generally better lighting than my bedroom!) it looks so beautiful... and really gives your eyes that little extra something. I reckon this may have to be the stand out product of the collection.

Hope you enjoyed! Definitely check out the collection if you haven't done so already.. (I think i'm a little late if anything!)

x

Friday, 31 December 2010

Farewell 2010.... Welcome 2011... and hello New Years resolutions!

I can't believe it's New Years Eve already! I really think the festive period was over far too quickly! Not that I'm sad to say goodbye to 2010... it's quite the opposite.... Not been the best of years for me, for various reasons; it's been an unusual year and period of my life... so I am bringing in the New Year with arms wide open!! Bring on 2011!!

I'm really optimistic about 2011... and I hope it proves me right :)

I'm not normally one for New Years resolutions... not because I disliked them... but I never had anything meaningful in mind... but this year has been different .. and therefore in the build to New Years, I've actually come up with some significant personal aims :D

  1. Save up for my Gap Year. I've already saved up (a pretty nice amount in my books!) from work, as I worked overtime in Summer and have carried on my contracted hours during school term. I worked pretty hard! So it's rewarding seeing the £'s actually going towards something for the future :) I'm hoping to go travelling to America with a friend who has relatives there; Hong Kong, where I've been with family three times over my lifetime, but I think going there just me and my friend will be altogether a new and exciting experience, and to stay in London for a bit a hopefully gain some sort of journalism experience.
  2. ACE my A levels. :D :D (hopefully!)
  3. MAKE TIME. I know that's physically impossible... but I guess I really meant to say is to use my time more wisely... or productively! Hopefully I'll have more time to put some love into my blog, as I'm so excited and have so many ideas, it's just SO frustrating not being able to put my enthusiasm into this blog... especially with my current A2 work piling on the already looming mountain... :S
  4. Experiment with all my lovely existing make-up.. avoiding make-up ruts! I know that when I find a winning combination I tend to stick with it.... like glue and end up neglecting all the other wonderful goodies I have collected over time.... This should also help to curb my spending!!
  5. Stick to my skincare routine. There's no point switching and changing all the time. Stick to it and wait for the results!
  6. Get back into swimming and jogging... and to pick up Yoga. I used to be a keen swimmer and jogged occasionally not because I felt the need, but because I enjoyed it. I have always wanted to pick up yoga, since going to India this year and participating in an early (and I mean early) yoga session during sunrise.... It was one of the most serene and nostalgic moments of my life, and I'm very grateful for being able to experience something so special.
  7. Accept my imperfections. I know everyone has insecurities and I feel that as I have grown older, they just seem to multiply :( BUT, I've realised, to not see someone down the street and think 'wow I wish i had hair like that... why can't my hair be like? etc etc.' I am the way I am, and I'm never going to be like her or that girl down the street. Be positive and smile, don't expect the worst in people but the best, just live, love those who you love... and laugh... and let those who I care about see my inner beauty...  :)
So 7 resolutions... biiiit random... but they're meaningful to me :) I hope you have a wonderful New Years and really hope that you have had a fabulous year (even if I haven't!)

2011 will be wonderful I'm sure of it :)

.....Just wish me luck ;)

X

Wednesday, 29 December 2010

A little update...



Christmas has FLOWN by... where has it gone?! Hope everyone's christmas was filled with festive fun :) i know mine was... that and a lot of eating!! I really can't believe new years is approaching... eeek.

Just wanted to post on here a few goodies that i received over the festive period :)

Firstly I received the most beautiful camera from my parents ^^ I was so shocked, I just really didn't expect it! Its the Canon 500D and it has definitely been thoroughly loved already... i kinda had to prise it from my hands to stop myself from experimenting with all the different settings etc.. hah! But from now on my photos on this blog should be uber good quality, as I'll be shooting with that bad boy! Hope you like the picture above by the way... i just couldn't resist a snap or too of the christmas tree before it has to be taken down :(

Anyway, down to the goodies....

I received a new perfume, as i was in dire need of something sweet smelling. Originally i was pining after Chance by Chanel.... but after taking a whiff of Viva la Juicy by Juicy Couture... I knew it was love. So i was thrilled to open this on christmas morning!



I in fact got given a set in which a body lotion and shower gel came with it... yay! It smells girly, and by that I mean it just makes you feel girly when you wear it. Its quite sweet, yet not overpoweringly, and there is an underlying scent of some sort of flower. I love it :D

I also got some really lovely make-up pieces... i was thoroughly spoilt this christmas!



In the picture are two 'merged blushers' by the Accessorize make-up range, and a Too Faced Pixie pin-ups palette.

The blushers are FAB. Seriously. I think they're around the £5 mark, yet their quality is almost level if not level-headed with MAC's mineralised blushers... yep, at a fraction of the price. They are very finely milled, so they go on like a dream, and are excellently pigmented... i may have to trot down to Superdrug and pick up a few more shades!
Pretty Pink



Starlet



 Then we have the Too Faced palette, which comes with 6 gorgeous eyeshadows, a mixture of matte and shimmer, a mini Too Faced Shadow insurance ( which i am really excited try out... I've tried UDPP, but it just doesn't cut it for me), a mini Last Injection mascara and a mini lava gloss eyeliner pencil. Strangely i have yet to play around with this beauty! I've just been so busy :(
I am really wanting to do my first FOTD.... so watch this space ;)


So yes, all in all a very happy girl this Christmas! Not just because of the wonderful gifts, but because of the lovely time I have been so lucky to spend with my nearest and dearest :)
Hopefully with my new camera, I will be much more inclined to blog and WILL make time to do it!! Expect a FOTD and more goodies... I think I'm going to do a 'haul' post maybe? I have picked up some absolute gems in the sales... Clothes, some real nice jewellery pieces... and yes, you guessed it... more make-up :P

x

Monday, 6 December 2010

TKMaxx goodness

I think that most people within the UK have come across a TKMaxx before; i can say I'm lucky enough to have one nearby-ish... its about a 30 minutes drive away... but WORTH IT.

Basically it's an outlet which sells high-end brands; from clothes to make-up, whimsical candles to intricate ornaments, beautiful bags to the highest of heels... and many other goodies. You never really know what you're going to find in there... so i always get a bit giddy about paying it a visit... (sad, yes i know)

I recently made a flying visit, by flying i mean i had about 15 minutes in my lunch break (!), so i dived straight for the beauty section... and came across some Lancaster cosmetics. I've never really heard anybody speak about Lancaster as a brand, but i do believe it is high-end, not that it really bothers me, as what i managed to pick up has been a very lovely experience!




I picked up this 'sunny' 5 coloured blush and a loose powder which is designed to give you a gorgeous sun kissed glow.. perfect for a winter pick me up. I can honestly say that these are lovely products, and i managed to pick these up for £11 for both... as they are currently on sale ;)

Definitely worth a peek in your local TK MAXX for some goodies, i've recently eyed out some nails inc, stilla and Pixi... so expect another post soon on some more TK MAXX goodness...

x



Tuesday, 31 August 2010

Recent Shenanigans...

hello... so i haven't posted in a while (pulls a very sorry looking face).. summer is almost over *sigh*, i can't believe how fast it goes! But yes, times have been a-very-a-busy lately. However, times are never too busy for a bit or purchasing here and there right...! So i thought i'd share a few recent things i have acquired... bit of make-up, jewellery and all things good :)


At the bottom, we have a few pieces of jewellery that i managed to pick up whilst i was in town recently from Accessorize. I absolutely adore Accessorize, their jewellery is absolutely a-ma-ZING there! It is a little pricey, so i can never pick up more than a couple things once i have saved my pennies :P However, managed to grab these beauties in the 75% off sale! The zebra, hot pink flower ring cost me £2.20 and the 'pearl snowflake' vintage inspired earrings cost £2.70.. rather bargainous i thought! :P

Next, we have a new blush that has managed to work its way into my collection. I received this in a swap on Makeupalley from a very kinda swapper. I've never tried any Shu uemura cosmetics, but I've heard amazing things, so i was vair, vair excited ^^
And i was not disappointed :) the blush i have is a 'Glow on' in 'M Pink 31'. It's a very slightly cool toned, light baby pink... reminiscent of MAC's Well Dressed... but in my opinion more pigmented. I'm about an NC20/25 and this imparts a lovely healthy glow on the cheeks... i can safely say i love it. Evidence? I've been using this almost everyday!



Another thing that I'm loving recently, is my first ever BB cream! A bit late to jump on the band wagon of BB creams, i know, but since only very recently, i had no idea what a BB cream even was :/ i know i know, how silly of me, especially seeing as I'm asian myself!


This is the Lioele Triple solution BB cream, which has whitening, wrinkle repair and promises to give a natural, clear skin tone. Seeing as this is the UK, the only way i think you can purchase a specifically asian BB cream is online. I bought mine on Ebay from a fantastic and lovely ebayer, check out her store here, for about £19.50. I might do a more in depth review and FOTD using this, so you can see the finish and shade. It is a perfect shade for me, but is quite light, so perhaps not suitable for darker skin tones. I've been using this for quite a while now and i can safely say I'm loving it :D

Last but not least! I received a special package a couple days ago.. (thank-you lovely postman!) drum roll pleeeease...



Ta-dah!!! It's my lovely Tous Bear pendant ^^ This was courtesy of the lovely Ashley; I won her competition on her amazing blog Ring My Bell , which took me by complete surprise, as i never win anything! Big thanks to Ashley, as this was such a generous and certainly adorable giveaway :) He's been hanging round my neck almost religiously and has accumulated numerous compliments :P

Sorry for the rather long post! Hope anyone who has stumbled across this is having a lovely summer and has recently enjoyed a glorious bank holiday weekend :) feel free to share your recent shenanigans and finds with me, i'd love to know...  X